Tejas Motorsports

Author Topic: Removing wires from bars  (Read 735 times)

gravestarr

  • Road Star
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 123
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Removing wires from bars
« on: Nov 30, 2012, 04:44:14 PM »
These are NON-STOCK bars. I need some advice from any who have done this.  I had a set of the Baron's 9" rise Fat T bars on the bike.  Earlier this year the back fell off the loading ramp while trying to load the bike.  It fell about 2' and hit on the bars bending them.  I now must remove my wiring to replace the bars.  The bars are off and the wiring is currently stuck at about the spot where it has to make the 90 degree turn to come out the bar ends.  After much coaxing,cursing and swearing the wiring will still not come any farther. Anybody had to swap their bars and got a good tip?  Yes! I lubed the wiring before anybody asks.


me

  • Roadliner
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2009
  • Posts: 500
  • Location: Arvada, CO
  • Referrals: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Removing wires from bars
« Reply #1 on: Nov 30, 2012, 06:03:16 PM »
pull them back through,   if you look at the end of the plug you will see little holes next to the plug in holes,    just get your self a sewing nettle that will fit in the little hole, then just push it in the hole while pulling the wire out the back of the holder,   what ever you do,    make real sure you know which color is in each spot,  peace of cake ;D

gravestarr

  • Road Star
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 123
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Removing wires from bars
« Reply #2 on: Dec 01, 2012, 11:27:07 AM »
May be a piece of cake. But the wires are hung up before you ever get to the plug ends.  Seems to be hung up on the wire covering as when I look into the bars on the riser end I can still see the wiring  plugs. I threaded these beggars through w/o removing the plugs so did not plan on removing the plugs to take everything out anyway.

t84a

  • Real Men Pedal
  • Raider
  • *****
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2011
  • Posts: 3068
  • Location: Middletown, MD
  • Referrals: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Removing wires from bars
« Reply #3 on: Dec 01, 2012, 11:36:43 AM »
Cut the bars.
Ken
2010 Raider
2008 FZ1

Words of Wisdom: Enjoy your fun time, don't be concerned about others trying to do the same.

JOIN THE AMA
Helmet Fact
My local powder coater

MYRDR

  • MSgt USMC Retired - Patriot Guard Rider
  • AZ Group
  • Raider
  • *****
  • *
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 23564
  • Location: Yuma, AZ
  • Referrals: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Removing wires from bars
« Reply #4 on: Dec 01, 2012, 11:40:19 AM »
Cut the bars.

 :agree: If the bars are not going to be used again just cut them.

budaman

  • Raider
  • *****
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 3614
  • Location: Liverpool NY
  • Referrals: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Removing wires from bars
« Reply #5 on: Dec 01, 2012, 11:59:50 AM »
Cut the bars.

 :agree: If the bars are not going to be used again just cut them.
Yes sounds like a plan but becareful not to cut the wires
2010 & 2012 ROM WINNER

Lrdofh8

  • Road Star
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 300
  • Location: College Station, TX
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Removing wires from bars
« Reply #6 on: Dec 02, 2012, 01:01:35 AM »
Yar! Bust out the Dremel!


This is my shield. I bear it before me into battle, but it is not mine alone. It protects my brother on my left. It protects my city. I will never let my brother out of its shadow nor my city out of its shelter. I will die with my shield before me facing the enemy.

gravestarr

  • Road Star
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 123
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Removing wires from bars
« Reply #7 on: Dec 03, 2012, 07:46:11 AM »
I wanted to be able to reuse them if needed but I ended up cutting them as suggested.  It turned out there was a lip between the riser part and the top bar that the wiring cover was catching on.  Also they were really rusted on the inside. Don't know if this was part of the issue but it sure didn't make things any smoother inside.  But it sure made the job a lot messier than the first time around.