Tejas Motorsports

Author Topic: Barons BAK Install - Need help.  (Read 4162 times)

JRaider09

  • Road Star
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2010
  • Posts: 402
  • Location: Monrovia, IN
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #30 on: Jan 26, 2011, 07:56:11 PM »
I ran into this as well but spun the coil around so the wires hooked up facing the left side of the bike allowing the plug wire to be facing the inside of the bike then cut back the tape on the wires to dress them over to the coil to hook them up.  It worked out well.  Hope this helps.   


EZRaider

  • Purplish Blue Metallic 2010 Raider S
  • Warrior
  • ****
  • *
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 1339
  • Location: St. Petersburg, FL
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #31 on: Jan 26, 2011, 08:13:53 PM »
Thanks JRaider09.  I'll give that a shot. 
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body.  But, rather to skid in sideways, totally used up and worn out, shouting "Man,what a ride!" - George Carlin


SEA-ROAR MEMBER

ase8427

  • ~ Ya gotta keep on, keepin' on.~ Joe Dirt
  • Road Star
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 102
  • Location: Littleton, CO
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #32 on: Jan 26, 2011, 08:28:47 PM »
I found that they only bolt up one way, if they are facing the wrong way they don't sit in the plate very well. Put front cylinder (right & left) up front and rear cylinders in the rear of the plate. Had no issues with spark plug wire reaching. Good luck.

EZRaider

  • Purplish Blue Metallic 2010 Raider S
  • Warrior
  • ****
  • *
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 1339
  • Location: St. Petersburg, FL
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #33 on: Jan 26, 2011, 08:50:07 PM »
JRaider09 -  Thanks, that looks like it will work.
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body.  But, rather to skid in sideways, totally used up and worn out, shouting "Man,what a ride!" - George Carlin


SEA-ROAR MEMBER

yardog102

  • AZ Group
  • V Star
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 48
  • Location: Yuma, AZ
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #34 on: Jan 30, 2011, 04:55:23 AM »
I love this forum.

I start this process on my baby later today. I am getting all my reading done before I pull out what hair I have left.

Don't take life to seriously. You never get out of it alive anyway.
,

TRaider_John

  • Patriot Guard Rider and SEA-ROAR member
  • Global Moderator
  • Raider
  • *****
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 8694
  • Location: Charlotte, NC area
  • Referrals: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #35 on: Jan 30, 2011, 05:33:10 AM »
Take a deep breath, follow the instructions, be careful, and test fit before tightening anything.  It takes time, but whenyou are done you will be thinking "That wasn't so bad".  And when you ride it, you will be glad you did it.

EZRaider

  • Purplish Blue Metallic 2010 Raider S
  • Warrior
  • ****
  • *
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 1339
  • Location: St. Petersburg, FL
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #36 on: Jan 30, 2011, 06:39:40 AM »
Trader_John is right.  TAKE YOUR TIME.  I finished mine up the other night and the most difficult part is the Relocation Kit.  Not that it's real bad.  I know I looked at my baby in the middle of installing this and wondered if she was going to start again.  But, she fired right up.  Just follow the instructions, step by step.  And you are definately going to need to buy some 3/8 heater hose. (See comments above).

Took me a few days, mostly because I have have been working 55 hr. weeks for the past 2 months.

And it really isn't that bad!.  And I love the engine sides being cleaned up now.
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body.  But, rather to skid in sideways, totally used up and worn out, shouting "Man,what a ride!" - George Carlin


SEA-ROAR MEMBER

Lestat

  • Road Star
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 323
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #37 on: Mar 16, 2011, 10:34:04 PM »
I just tried doing this tonight and I encountered a problem....

My bike won't stay on after I turn it on and it's idling. I won't stay on for more than 2 seconds. If I turn the throttle, it will stay on. As a matter of fact, I took it out for a spin and seems to run fine except for it not staying on in idle.

Someone please advice. Thank you.
 

TRaider_John

  • Patriot Guard Rider and SEA-ROAR member
  • Global Moderator
  • Raider
  • *****
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 8694
  • Location: Charlotte, NC area
  • Referrals: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #38 on: Mar 17, 2011, 04:21:42 AM »
Recheck all the tubing and connections associated with the idle air control (IAC).  It is the doohickey that controls air to the engine when the throttles are closed.  It is located under the neck, has one hose going to each throttle body and one going to a small filter (before the mod it went to the air box).  It sounds as if your bike is either getting too much or too little air at idle.  The line to the filter may be pinched off or the lines to the throttle bodies may not be connected or are pinched off. 

If you removed the IAC (as some have done) you have to adjust the idle position of the throttle plates...that is another project. 

Lestat

  • Road Star
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 323
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #39 on: Mar 17, 2011, 01:07:53 PM »
John,

 Thank you for replying back. I did go back to check all of those hoses. The one going to the small filter was a pinched to about half way. However, that wasn't all of the problem. So after closer inspection... I found out what was wrong.

Barons sends two small filters. One of them breaths in and out.... the other doesn't. I switched them around and had the one that doesn't breath on the hose that goes to the IAC. Therefore, not delivering ANY air to the unit. That was causing my bike to die in idle.

Everyone installing this... be careful. Both filters are identical. Simply blow in both of them to see which one breaths to install to your IAC. The other use it for your oil/moisture catch.
 

MasterCAM

  • Road Star
  • **
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 227
  • Location: Austin, Texas
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #40 on: Mar 17, 2011, 04:25:04 PM »
If I recall the filter packages have a part number on them. Each package should have a different part number, indicating two different filters.

TRaider_John

  • Patriot Guard Rider and SEA-ROAR member
  • Global Moderator
  • Raider
  • *****
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 8694
  • Location: Charlotte, NC area
  • Referrals: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #41 on: Mar 17, 2011, 05:00:00 PM »
(1) 2" Crankcase Vent Filter w/3/8" Male Fitting
(1) 2" Idle Speed Air Filter w/1/2" Male Fitting

The fittings are different sizes because the hoses are different sizes. 

I don't really understand what you mean about not breathing.  They both have to pass air through them.  If it doesn't breathe, why have a filter?

Lestat

  • Road Star
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 323
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #42 on: Mar 17, 2011, 05:53:58 PM »
Exactly!! One of the filters I got does NOT pass air (breath).

I don't know why they sent it like that...... ???
 

TRaider_John

  • Patriot Guard Rider and SEA-ROAR member
  • Global Moderator
  • Raider
  • *****
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 8694
  • Location: Charlotte, NC area
  • Referrals: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #43 on: Mar 18, 2011, 04:52:29 AM »
The crank "breather" needs to allow air to flow in both directions.  The one one the IAC at least needs to breathe toward the engine. 
Maybe it is just me, but I would be  figuring out what is plugging  one of them.  If I can't figure that out, would be going down to my local autoparts place and spend a couple bucks on one that does breathe.  Plan C would be contacting Baron's for a replacement. 

Bearster18

  • Road Star
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2012
  • Posts: 61
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Barons BAK Install - Need help.
« Reply #44 on: Nov 13, 2012, 03:05:17 PM »
After reading this, This gives me more confidence at tackling this installation this weekend :)   So the 3/8th heater hose is required?
09 Raider,cobra swept exhaust,PC3, BARON BAK, LED rear tail, floor boards, lowered rear, la chopper 9" bars w/ avon air grips