Author Topic: Engine (Oil?) Temp - how to get it to show temporarily on the display  (Read 16627 times)

t84a

  • Real Men Pedal
  • Raider
  • *****
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2011
  • Posts: 4798
  • Referrals: 4
    • Right A Way
Re: Engine Oil Temp - how to get it to show temporarily on the display
« Reply #15 on: Apr 09, 2014, 06:41:16 am »
By the way,how do you get out of the diagnostic mode? Do you simply turn off the ignition?

Its in the first post.
Ken
2010 Raider/2008 FZ1 (sold)

RIP Tail dragger

RoadStarRaider

  • Advertisement
  • ***

    the urban legend

    • Raider
    • *****
    • Join Date: Sep 2011
    • Posts: 3676
    • Referrals: 0
    Re: Engine Oil Temp - how to get it to show temporarily on the display
    « Reply #16 on: Apr 09, 2014, 07:26:22 pm »
    By the way,how do you get out of the diagnostic mode? Do you simply turn off the ignition?

    Its in the first post.

    I still don't see it. :shrug:  Must be this winter delirium everybody's been talking about.
    I'd rather die on a motorcycle than live without one.

    ,,

    t84a

    • Real Men Pedal
    • Raider
    • *****
    • *
    • Join Date: Aug 2011
    • Posts: 4798
    • Referrals: 4
      • Right A Way
    Re: Engine Oil Temp - how to get it to show temporarily on the display
    « Reply #17 on: Apr 09, 2014, 07:30:46 pm »
    Sorry, you posted out. Just turn the key off. Must be my winter delirium lol.
    Ken
    2010 Raider/2008 FZ1 (sold)

    RIP Tail dragger

    • Advertisement

      the urban legend

      • Raider
      • *****
      • Join Date: Sep 2011
      • Posts: 3676
      • Referrals: 0
      Re: Engine Oil Temp - how to get it to show temporarily on the display
      « Reply #18 on: Apr 09, 2014, 07:39:59 pm »
      Thanks.That's how I imagined it was done but I'd rather be informed than going around taking random guesses.
      I'd rather die on a motorcycle than live without one.

      ,,

      skyrider

      • Road Star
      • **
      • Join Date: Oct 2012
      • Posts: 180
      • Referrals: 0
      Re: Engine Oil Temp - how to get it to show temporarily on the display
      « Reply #19 on: Apr 10, 2014, 09:19:21 am »
      Did anyone ever decide if this reading is oil or cylinder   "I wonder if this engine temp sensor, is the same as oil temp sensor, or if there is two ?" from UrbanLegend.

      the urban legend

      • Raider
      • *****
      • Join Date: Sep 2011
      • Posts: 3676
      • Referrals: 0
      Re: Engine Oil Temp - how to get it to show temporarily on the display
      « Reply #20 on: Apr 10, 2014, 06:47:39 pm »
      Did anyone ever decide if this reading is oil or cylinder   "I wonder if this engine temp sensor, is the same as oil temp sensor, or if there is two ?" from UrbanLegend.

      Wasn't me...It was JB
      I'd rather die on a motorcycle than live without one.

      ,,

      Coldfinger

      • Roadliner
      • ***
      • Join Date: Apr 2012
      • Posts: 779
      • Referrals: 0
      Re: Engine Oil Temp - how to get it to show temporarily on the display
      « Reply #21 on: Apr 10, 2014, 09:20:19 pm »
      From the threads I read before I started this one I thought it was oil temp, but now that I'm looking at where the sensor is in that diagram and what it's called,  I'm voting engine temp.  The actual oil temp, I'm guessing, will be lower because, I believe, the cylinder head the hottest part?

      If they had wanted the reading to be oil temp, they would have put a sensor in the oil tank or other area where there is a good supply of oil.  If there is any other temp sensor, I'm not aware of it but I'm all ears.

      the urban legend

      • Raider
      • *****
      • Join Date: Sep 2011
      • Posts: 3676
      • Referrals: 0
      Re: Engine Oil Temp - how to get it to show temporarily on the display
      « Reply #22 on: Apr 11, 2014, 05:40:08 pm »
      From the threads I read before I started this one I thought it was oil temp, but now that I'm looking at where the sensor is in that diagram and what it's called,  I'm voting engine temp.  The actual oil temp, I'm guessing, will be lower because, I believe, the cylinder head the hottest part?

      If they had wanted the reading to be oil temp, they would have put a sensor in the oil tank or other area where there is a good supply of oil.  If there is any other temp sensor, I'm not aware of it but I'm all ears.

      That makes sense,because with any pushrod engine (that I know of ), the oil is pushed up through the pushrods.And you can't screw a sensor into a pushrod.A sensor in the head wouldn't measure oil temperature.

      Looking at the wiring diagram in the service manual and I can find an engine temp sensor but no oil temp sensor.Looking at the sensor operation table in the diagnostic section I only see engine temp and not oil temp.So engine temp it is...and that's good enough for me.I can still monitor how hot this baby gets.

      Now I'll have to do some reading to see if there's a maximum allowable operating temperature.

      I'd rather die on a motorcycle than live without one.

      ,,

      Mikey76

      • Roadliner
      • ***
      • Join Date: Aug 2013
      • Posts: 668
      • Referrals: 0
      Does anyone know what page in the manual references the diagnostic mode?
      light travels faster than sound,  that's why some people appear smart until you hear them  speak.

      the urban legend

      • Raider
      • *****
      • Join Date: Sep 2011
      • Posts: 3676
      • Referrals: 0
      Does anyone know what page in the manual references the diagnostic mode?
      ECU self diagnostic functions start on page 7-29 and the sensor operation table is on page 7-37
      I'd rather die on a motorcycle than live without one.

      ,,

      RangerRick

      • Raider
      • *****
      • *
      • *
      • Join Date: Apr 2010
      • Posts: 5631
      • Referrals: 1
      Well the book says engine temperature, Not Oil Temperature. So to me that means engine temp.  ;)
      2009 Raider XV19CYS
      ANG Member 25 years
      Retired Aug. 1, 2010

      CHROMINATOR

      • MSgt USMC Retired - Patriot Guard Rider
      • SEA-ROAR
      • Raider
      • *****
      • *
      • *
      • Join Date: Sep 2011
      • Posts: 43444
      • Referrals: 7
      Well the book says engine temperature, Not Oil Temperature. So to me that means engine temp.  ;)

       :agree:  I refuse to believe that Yamaha engineers would put an oil temp sensor in the hottest part of the bike.

      ROADKILL

      • SEA-ROAR
      • Raider
      • *****
      • *
      • Join Date: Jan 2010
      • Posts: 13214
      • Referrals: 19
      One of the built in safety's: if the bike sits at idle for 20 minutes the bike will shut off - so does this work off of a heat sensor or a timer?

      Pudge

      • 2008 Raider - Fast Black
      • Raider
      • *****
      • *
      • Join Date: Jun 2011
      • Posts: 5029
      • Referrals: 0
      Re: Engine Oil Temp how to get it to show temporarily on the display
      « Reply #28 on: Dec 12, 2014, 07:05:52 pm »
      I don't see anything in the rulebook to the contrary, but is it ok to mount an oil tank in the drivers compartment?

      Side track to this thread, but hey! Welcome to the forum!
      jp

      (sent from my Commodore 64)


      CHROMINATOR

      • MSgt USMC Retired - Patriot Guard Rider
      • SEA-ROAR
      • Raider
      • *****
      • *
      • *
      • Join Date: Sep 2011
      • Posts: 43444
      • Referrals: 7
      Re: Engine Oil Temp how to get it to show temporarily on the display
      « Reply #29 on: Dec 13, 2014, 02:04:56 am »
      I don't see anything in the rulebook to the contrary, but is it ok to mount an oil tank in the drivers compartment?

      Drivers compartment?  Where's that at?

      Oh... Welcome to the forum from Yuma, AZ...  ;D