Author Topic: Raider speedo error  (Read 4457 times)

radman

  • V Star
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2008
  • Posts: 12
  • Referrals: 0
Raider speedo error
« on: Dec 29, 2008, 06:36:52 pm »
I don't trust the speedometer on my Raider and am looking into ordering a product called "Speedo Healer".  Has anyone installed one of these on a Raider, or any bike?  If so, does it work as advertised?  If on the Raider, what error factor did you program into the device?  Thanks for any info.

RoadStarRaider

  • Advertisement
  • ***

    Dadillac

    • Road Star
    • **
    • *
    • Join Date: Nov 2008
    • Posts: 131
    • Referrals: 0
    Re: Raider speedo error
    « Reply #1 on: Dec 29, 2008, 08:38:24 pm »
    I have one. I used my Tomtom to get an accurate speed reading. After a few trials, it seems that 7.5% works best. That gives me about a 1 mph error below 35, and a deadly accurate speedo between 35 and 70. Then it goes off slightly after that. Installation could be performed by a 10 year old.

    Don
    Modern Warriors Saddle Iron Horses of Chrome

    radman

    • V Star
    • *
    • Join Date: Dec 2008
    • Posts: 12
    • Referrals: 0
    Re: Raider speedo error
    « Reply #2 on: Dec 29, 2008, 09:27:18 pm »
    Thanks Don,  That's what I was hoping to hear.  I'll get one on order.  Now if I can just get the kid next door...

    • Advertisement

      SWomack

      • Raider
      • *****
      • *
      • *
      • *
      • Join Date: Nov 2008
      • Posts: 6198
      • Referrals: 19
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #3 on: Dec 29, 2008, 10:29:18 pm »
      Great Info Guys

      Dadillac

      • Road Star
      • **
      • *
      • Join Date: Nov 2008
      • Posts: 131
      • Referrals: 0
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #4 on: Dec 30, 2008, 08:42:07 pm »
      Thanks Don,  That's what I was hoping to hear.  I'll get one on order.  Now if I can just get the kid next door...
      Glad I could help.

      Don
      Modern Warriors Saddle Iron Horses of Chrome

      TheOhiomike

      • Road Star
      • **
      • Join Date: Nov 2008
      • Posts: 176
      • Referrals: 0
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #5 on: Jan 02, 2009, 01:27:16 pm »
      The raider is only off by 3mph. I did gps testing on another site. It was consistantly 3mph off.. Thats pretty good for a motorcycle..

      THUNDER

      • Global Moderator
      • Raider
      • *****
      • *
      • *
      • *
      • *
      • Join Date: Dec 2008
      • Posts: 5396
      • Referrals: 12
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #6 on: Jan 02, 2009, 01:34:10 pm »
      wich  way + or -
      THUNDER
      You can watch stuff happen
      You can make stuff happen
      Or you can say what the hell happened....Quote from ..Capt. Phil...R.I.P.
      PATRIOT GUARD RIDER

      [img]http://www.roadstarraider.

      Dadillac

      • Road Star
      • **
      • *
      • Join Date: Nov 2008
      • Posts: 131
      • Referrals: 0
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #7 on: Jan 02, 2009, 08:13:28 pm »
      The speedo reads faster than you are really going. The speedo isn't off by 3 mph consistently (at least mine wasn't). I found mine to be off by 5 mph in some cases. When I was going 75 mph by speedo, gps said 70. But when the speedo said 40, gps said 37. The speedo healer works great and I now know exactly what speed I am traveling. Plus it is logging exact mileage, instead of the "extra" miles all of yous guys are putting on.

      Don
      Modern Warriors Saddle Iron Horses of Chrome

      Ace

      • Raider
      • *****
      • *
      • Join Date: Nov 2008
      • Posts: 6501
      • Referrals: 131
        • RoadStarRaider.com
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #8 on: Jan 02, 2009, 10:46:31 pm »
      Plus it is logging exact mileage, instead of the "extra" miles all of yous guys are putting on.

      That is a great point.  I never thought of that before Don.  Hmmmmmm...

      TheOhiomike

      • Road Star
      • **
      • Join Date: Nov 2008
      • Posts: 176
      • Referrals: 0
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #9 on: Jan 05, 2009, 02:18:59 pm »
      Its to bad the Japs haven't figured out what the Italians have and thats to seperate the speed and ODO signals. I took probably 10 pics at different speeds and they were all under 5mph and MOST 3 mph with a Garmin Nuvi 780. I will see if I can find them.

      GrayRaider08

      • Guest
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #10 on: Jan 05, 2009, 06:15:33 pm »
      I found mine off by about 5 mph on the speed  indicator the police use along the hwy,
      but the ones they use in town at slower speeds mine seems to be just about accurate
      + _- 1 mph.

      Gray

      molokai

      • Guest
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #11 on: Jan 06, 2009, 01:38:36 am »
      Installing the Metz 240 raised the rear of my bike 3/8". By the laws of geometry, this should have affected the speedo. Anyone know how much and in what direction the effect would be??? By logic it would seem that the speedo would read a little lower than it used to with the 210 for equivalent actual speed...

      Guess I'm trying to decide whether or not I should do anything at all about the speed accuracy issue.

      SWomack

      • Raider
      • *****
      • *
      • *
      • *
      • Join Date: Nov 2008
      • Posts: 6198
      • Referrals: 19
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #12 on: Jan 06, 2009, 09:35:21 am »
      That is a good question.

      Ace

      • Raider
      • *****
      • *
      • Join Date: Nov 2008
      • Posts: 6501
      • Referrals: 131
        • RoadStarRaider.com
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #13 on: Jan 07, 2009, 09:11:53 pm »
      Installing the Metz 240 raised the rear of my bike 3/8". By the laws of geometry, this should have affected the speedo. Anyone know how much and in what direction the effect would be??? By logic it would seem that the speedo would read a little lower than it used to with the 210 for equivalent actual speed...

      Guess I'm trying to decide whether or not I should do anything at all about the speed accuracy issue.

      A larger tire would have to turn less to travel the same distance as a smaller tire, therefore you tire would make less revolutions.  In other words your new tire would decrease the MPH reading on your speedo.  So if your speedo says that you are going 45 MPH you may be actually traveling 46 MPH, but I am not smart enought to calculate the actual variance in speed.

      Ace

      • Raider
      • *****
      • *
      • Join Date: Nov 2008
      • Posts: 6501
      • Referrals: 131
        • RoadStarRaider.com
      Re: Raider speedo error
      « Reply #14 on: Jan 07, 2009, 09:23:44 pm »
      I started to second guess myself, but found a tool to confirm my thoughts.  ;D

      http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html